Rome

I was super excited to visit this history rich city, I have always had a fascination with Rome so as you can imagine was eager to explore. Our time here started off with a walking tour, visiting some awesome spots around the city, such as the Trevi Fountain. Of course, our tour was completed by getting gelato, which was much-needed since it was so hot. Being able to walk around Rome really was an experience I won’t forget.

img_5996

The next day, we had planned to visit the Basilica, now here’s a little but very useful tip when thinking of visiting here…Get up early!!! If I remember correctly, we got there before 9am and had no problem with waiting in lines for ages. However make sure you cover up, a few girls I was with had their knees and shoulders showing so I had to run into the shop and pick out some scarfs for them to use, I didn’t think they’d be so strict on this, but they are so just be respectful and wear long but light clothing.

Then we had to trek to the top, we opted to get the lift half way up and then continue by stairs, since I’m slightly claustrophobic, it wasn’t ideal as the stairwells are very narrow and cramped and the thought of not being able to get out easily was terrifying to me, however I couldn’t turn around so pushed through and it was worth it once we reached the top.

When we were done at the top, we started our way back down, we then looked around inside the Basilica and it was breathtaking, the enormity of the structure and all the artwork and intricate details that are inside are amazing, photos just don’t do it justice, you really need to go there in order to experience it. After the morning at the Basilica, the sun was at its highest point and oh man was it hot, we decided to head back to the hostel to have a shower and quick chill out before making our way to the Colosseum!!!

To say I was excited about this was an understatement, I have always wanted to visit it since I was in primary school and we were learning about its history. We had a guided tour around the surrounding grounds, which are now ruins but it was cool to learn about what they were used for back in their glory days. However the anticipation was building up as our guide got closer and closer to the Colosseum! I can’t even put into words how brilliant it is to be able to visit it and be able to walk around such a historic site.

That evening we had drinks in the hostel bar, it was a nice way to spend the evening especially since some of the people on our trip were set to depart the next day. The next day was another early start as we were due to have a tour of Vatican city. I was very intrigued to tour around the Vatican since its history and what it is gripped me, the tour itself was disappointing, it wasn’t very interesting but I’m glad I did it since we were able to walk through and learn some more history of the place.

Rome was beautiful, I do have some tips though, don’t visit in the height of summer, it gets very hot and it’s not nice having to walk around all day feeling all sweaty and disgusting, I would 100% go back here but in the spring time! Also beware of the beggars asking for change, some aren’t as genuine as they seem.

So that concludes my time in Rome, next time the travel series will continue with one of my favourite cities; Florence!

For now, I hope you’ve had a brilliant weekend and this  next week is a great one!

Aimee 🙂

Leave a Reply

