Being Happy Is Hard?

Welcome back to my blog, I wanted to do a more advice type blog post today, I’ve always been told that I give good advice to people so I thought I’d share some of my thoughts and feelings about how I stay happy.

I know that being happy can be hard, for various reasons such as mental health or you’re grieving from a loss, there are many reasons why you may not be feeling happy but I do believe we can help ourselves a little bit and contribute to making ourselves feel better.

I’ve had struggles in my life, just as everybody does, where I’ve found it really hard to pick myself back up and put a smile on my face, even if I really didn’t want to. However I’ve always found a way and I wanted to share some tips with you of how I’ve dealt with feeling unhappy in the past.

So my first tip, and some may not agree with this but that’s rightfully your opinion. However I’ve always found that if I can’t be happy for myself then be happy for somebody else, so for me this was my family, I’ve mentioned briefly about my illness but when I was going through that, it was probably the worst time of my life, but I always wanted to remain positive and have a smile on my face to ease the pain for my family and whilst at first this was fake happiness, it eventually turned into feeling real and I did become more positive because of this outlook.

Another thing I like to do when I’m unhappy is pick up a passion, so for me I love to write, I would just start writing random stories about anything and everything, and they wouldn’t be for anybody else’s eyes, only mine. It’s also fun to read them back after a few months and see how much my writing has improved.

Getting out for me is such a healer, even if it’s just a five minute walk to the local shops, the fresh air instantly makes me feel better. Obviously not everybody can bring themselves to leave the house, which is perfectly okay if you’re not ready but instead you could try sitting by your backdoor whilst it’s open or just simply opening your bedroom door to let in some air and hear the birds outside.

Spending time with friends, I’m lucky enough to have amazing friends, they’re always there for me and never fail to put a smile on my face, if I am feeling upset then spending time with them is a distraction for a few hours.

Obviously, there are so many ways you can make yourself feel better but I wanted to share with you some of the ways I help myself.

I really hope that this week for you is a good one.

Aimee 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

