How I Keep My Hair Healthy

I’ve always been lucky enough to have thick hair that always seems to be healthy (at least that’s what my hair dresser tells me haha.) I thought I’d share my haircare routine with you today since I like to read posts or watch videos about these sorts of topics and some might find it useful.

I’d guess I better start with a little bit of a background story about why I take extra care of my hair. During 2014 I was diagnosed with a nasty illness which meant I had to have many treatments, as you can imagine this was a horrible time in my life but what made it worse was the changing in my appearance, one of the changes was the thinning of my hair. On one hand I was so grateful that my hair only thinned and I still technically had a full head of hair but for me it was as if I had lost a piece of myself. I will never forget this one time I was chilling with my group of friends and I stood up and one of them pointed out how I had literally malted all over this pillow, I couldn’t apologise enough, luckily they didn’t care at all and were so supportive, something which I will forever be grateful for. So once I had finally got into remission, I wanted to help my hair grow back. This process was long, it wasn’t until summer of 2016 when I finally felt like it was almost completely back to how it had been before 2014.

So in order to help my hair, I used hardly any heat on it, it was so brittle and weak I just didn’t want to risk it. I would rub coconut oil and castor oil into my roots and leave it on for 10-15 minutes before showering. I really found that this helped with the recovery of my hair and I would highly recommend trying this out. My hairdresser told me to buy some hair masks, which I did and they were also amazing and made me feel like I was finally getting some of myself back.

Obviously my hair then grew back at different lengths, so I had some long and then the new hair was a lot shorter, this was frustrating for me as it looked weird but I persevered and once I felt like the new hair was at a decent length I cut my hair short so it was all a similar length. I’m so glad I did this as it gave my hair a chance to grow together rather than at different lengths.

So the aftermath…

I start my haircare routine in the shower, using shampoo and conditioner – a little tip I like to do is if I want more silky straight hair I leave the conditioner in for longer. I really like using Aussie or Dove haircare products and alternate between the two brands. I tend to wash my hair every 3 days or so as I know overwashing isn’t the best thing for your hair! I still use the hair masks but only if I feel like I really need to, although I should probably start using them more now that I want my hair longer again.

Once I’m out of the shower I use either Pantene Dry Oil or the Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse. Both of these I love!! If I want straight hair then I’ll use a hairdryer and brush, since I shower at night I don’t straighten until the morning and when I do straighten I use Tresemme Heat Defence. Then I’ll lightly go over it with Josh Wood Radiant Shine Treatment Oil to help with any frizz.

However if I want wavy hair then I’ll skip the hair drying and straightening process and instead just put it in plaits overnight and wake up with nice wavy hair, although if I feel like I need to curl some parts then obviously I’ll use my heat protectant and possibly some sea salt spray, I like the got2be Beach Matt and the Urban Fudge Sea Salt.

And that’s how I care for my hair. I hoped you enjoyed this post, please do let me know if you have any blog post requests that you’d like me to cover!

Aimee 🙂

Leave a Reply

