Krakow

Our fifth stop on our tour was the amazing city of Krakow, I have been to Krakow before about 2/3 years previous and it was one of the most amazing trips I’ve ever had, mostly due to it being with the best people who really made the trip an unforgettable one, so as you can imagine I was super excited to go back and see what Krakow had in store for me the second time around.

Before we arrived in Krakow, we did stop at Auschwitz, I did also visit here in my previous trip, honestly I never even thought I’d get to visit it in my lifetime, but now I’ve been twice, although one visit was definitely enough. I would be surprised if you didn’t know what Auschwitz was, but I’ve linked an information page so you can become informed and learn of the horrors that took place there. I don’t want to dwell on Auschwitz too much, since I want the tone of this blog post to be excited, however I did want to mention one thing, when we were there, we noticed people taking photos of themselves smiling in different locations around the camps, this really struck a few of us who didn’t agree with this action since we felt it was disrespectful but I wanted to mention it since it’s something that stuck with me since this trip and I still find it difficult to get my head around.

Anyway, onto more positive things! Our first day in Poland we went and explored as much as possible, a group of us took a walk to Wawel Castle and visited the Wawel Dragon.

We also wondered around the biggest mall I’ve ever been in, the Galeria Krakowska. I would definitely recommend having a browse in here, there’s so many different shops and eateries. I visited here on my first trip which made for some super funny memories.

img_5800

For the evening we went to Pierogarnia Krakowiacy, which did the best pierogies, 5 of us went and all ordered different flavoured pierogies and then all shared, I would really recommend going here, and it really wasn’t that expensive either! After we devoured our pierogies, we then went to to a shots bar, luckily we arrived well before the rest of our Contiki group so were able to get a few shots each, because once the others came there was no way we would’ve got served quickly. After everyone had got their shots, we made our way to a Polish club! After dancing the night away, a couple of us found a McDonalds and chilled there for a bit before returning to the hotel to get some sleep before travelling to Budapest the next morning.

img_5811

So that sums up my second trip to Krakow, obviously the second time around was a lot shorter and didn’t live up to the first trip, since we had more time and packed in a lot more, maybe I can do a post on my first trip to Poland if that’s something you’d be interested in? There’s a lot of funny stories that took place on the first trip!

Enjoy the rest of the week!

Aimee 🙂

Leave a Reply

